Skills, Stigmas and Macros
How Aion 2 characters build their skills: a small set of stacked active skills, skill points and the level 8, 12 and 16 breakpoints, Wisdom Stones, Stigma skills and slots, build presets and the in-game macro, with what changed in Korea and what NC had still not confirmed for the global version when it opened on Sep 30, 2026.
Skills in Aion 2 are a short list that grows deep rather than wide: each class uses about a dozen active skills, plus passives and a handful of chosen Stigma skills, and levels them with skill points, Stigma shards, Daevanion crystals and gear. BoredAF's beginner guide of November 2025 puts it simply: where a character "really gets its power from" is "skill points and stigma shards to level up your skills and unlock additional effects, and Dave essence to further level up your skills". Each level threshold adds effects that can change how a skill works. How fights play out is on Combat System, the boards that raise skill levels on Daevanion Boards, and each class's own skills on its page under Classes; the best Stigmas for each class and where to farm Stigma Shards are on Stigma Guide.
Quick facts
| Active skills in use | About 12; 8 default quick slots (Fextralife) |
| Skill point resets | Free (creator reports from the Korean servers, November 2025) |
| Breakpoints | Extra effects at skill levels 8, 12 and 16 |
| Skill points alone | Raise a skill to level 10; higher levels need Daevanion boards, Arcana and gear |
| Wisdom Stones | Used to level skills; from Monoliths and the Shugo Festa shop in Korea, from Sealed Dungeons on the global client (Society Of Gaming, September 2026) |
| Stigma slots (Korea and Taiwan) | Five since Mar 25, 2026 |
| Stigma enhancement (Korea and Taiwan) | Up to level 25 since Jul 1, 2026 |
| Stigma slots (global) | Not stated in NC's global notices as of Sep 30, 2026 |
| Macro | Up to 20 skills in one macro (Ynoki, July 2026) |
Skill bars and stacked skills
Aion 2 uses far fewer skills than the original game. Looking at NC's first gameplay footage in August 2025, TheLazyPeon counts twelve abilities on the bar, left and right click, hotkeys 1 to 8, and Q and E, and relays the developers' clarification that further abilities come from combos and activations, with about 40 per class once active, passive and Stigma skills are counted. Fextralife's notes from the June 2025 focus group give 8 default quick slots and about 12 skills, and describe chain skills that appear on screen and must be pressed quickly.
Many skills share a key. Grobs's beginner guide of November 2025 explains that most classes have 11 basic skills spread over eight keys, four on each side, because so many are conditional: one needs the enemy frozen, another airborne or knocked back. On his Sorcerer, the Q key both freezes a target and fires the skill that needs a frozen target.
The same stacking works as a queue. In his 250-hour review of December 2025 Grobs binds four abilities to his first key and simply presses it, and the game uses each as it comes off cooldown. He calls the feature a concession to mobile players that makes PvE "crazy simple", although PvP still asks for skills to be used situationally.
Skill points and breakpoints
Skill points come from leveling and quests, and also from turning in the feathers scattered across the world at a town Monolith. By level 45 on the Korean servers, BoredAF says, a player has enough to max many skills, and resetting them is free, so builds can be changed at any point. Free resets followed NC's launch-week apology in November 2025, when, as MassivelyOP reported, the developers removed the cost of resetting skills.
Leveling a skill makes it stronger, and reaching certain thresholds opens effects on it: "the first effect you get on level eight, then on level 12, and then on level 16". Grobs's examples include being able to cast while moving, which he calls essential for the Sorcerer's Firestorm against bosses, and a skill on every class that returns HP. Skill points only take a skill to level 10, so the second and third effects at 12 and 16 come from the Daevanion boards and from gear.
On NC's dungeon stream of Sep 4, 2026 a developer describes the same structure: each skill has three nodes to customize, unlocked as the skill levels up. Arcana cards add further skill levels, which is how endgame characters push key skills past 20.
Because of the breakpoints, creators advise concentrating points. CrusherXGaming's pre-launch guide of September 2026 puts left- and right-click core abilities first, then a class's stagger skill, then practical Stigma picks, and argues that three abilities at levels 8, 12 or 16 "will outperform eight abilities sitting at level six, every time".
Wisdom Stones
Skills also use Wisdom Stones. Society Of Gaming's leveling guide of May 2026 shows them coming from resonating with a Monolith after collecting feathers: "this wisdom stone you are using to level up your skills". In a later guide he shows them for sale in the shop of Shugo Festa, whose mini-games open every hour but allow seven entries a week; see Daily Dungeons and Shugo Festa.
The global client moves the main source. Playing the first day of the Launch Scale Test on Sep 17, 2026, Society Of Gaming found that the Monolith no longer gives Wisdom Stones; they come from Sealed Dungeons instead, of which he counts more than 60, so that clearing them becomes mandatory (see Sealed Dungeons and Strongholds).
Stigma skills
Stigma skills are extra abilities chosen from a larger pool and slotted beside the basic skills. At the Korean launch, Grobs explained, every class had 12 Stigma skills and could equip four of them, unlocked through a quest around level 35.
Unlike skill points, Stigmas were not free to reset, and the shards that level them were scarce: BoredAF estimates about 20 Stigma shards by level 45 with every side quest done, and advises thinking before spending them. The fan site aion2hub, which translates the Korean patch notes, lists a lower Stigma reset cost in the update of Jan 28, 2026. Fan translations of the December 2025 notes add Unstable Stigma Shards as a Transcendence reward, convertible into a Stigma Shard with a 20% chance.
NC's class overhaul of Mar 25, 2026 raised the maximum number of Stigma slots to five in Korea and Taiwan and gave every class a new Stigma skill: Fracturing Rush for the Gladiator, Battlefield Banner for the Templar, Barrier Spell for the Chanter, Reincarnating Touch for the Cleric, Command: Proxy for the Spiritmaster (called Elementalist in that release), Hibernation for the Sorcerer, Shadowstep for the Assassin and Supporting Fire for the Ranger. Chapter 1, on Jul 1, 2026, let Stigma skills be enhanced to level 25.
Creators on the Taiwanese servers report a further rise. Sen's Gladiator guide of July 2026 says "you can have up to six stigmas now. It used to be four then five now six", with separate presets for PvE and PvP; NC's English releases mention only the rise to five.
The number for the Global Release is still not settled in anything NC has written. On the dungeon stream a developer says "you're able to have four of them", one of which on his class makes him invulnerable. xMontu's global Gladiator guide of August 2026 expects "somewhere between four and six", and CrusherXGaming reports that the global launch caps skill and Stigma levels at 20 without the advanced Stigma shard system. The global client has been live since Advanced Access opened on Sep 30, 2026, but NC's global notices through that date give no Stigma count and no skill level cap, so these remain reports, not confirmed limits.
Testers' comparisons point the same way on skill levels. aLuckyRO, setting the Launch Scale Test client beside the Taiwanese one, found the same skill descriptions on both, with one difference: skill enchantment reaches +25 in Taiwan and Korea but only +20 on the global client. NC has not confirmed that cap in writing.
The sources of skill materials changed as well. Comparing the test client with the Korean one, Kentaro found skill points coming from Sealed Dungeons and side quests, and Stigma shards from "the abyss ... the nightmare arena, Shugo Festival, Battlefields, and Ascension", with no Stigma morphing in that build.
First impressions on the global client
Players of the Launch Scale Test of Sep 17 and 18, 2026 and of Advanced Access judged the skill system differently. MassivelyOP's Tyler F.M. Edwards liked the contextual skills that become available only under certain conditions, such as after a critical hit, although he wanted their icons to stand out more. He found the classes mechanically alike, each with a spammable mana spender on the right mouse button, a spammable mana builder on the left and everything else on fairly long cooldowns, and saw many ways to raise stats but few that change how a class plays; he also thought action mode needs too many keybinds to be comfortable. Kevin Link of S4G, who reached level 30 in the same test, liked the Stigmas for the control they give over a character's playstyle. On the first day of Advanced Access, mein-mmo's Karsten Scholz counted the fairly simple skill system among the signs of Aion 2's mobile heritage, alongside its menus, camera and auto-run.
Presets
Swapping builds became easier in Korea during Season 2. Xela's preview of the Season 2 roadmap, published on Jan 14, 2026, describes combat presets arriving on Jan 21 that save skills, gear, Stigmas, Arcana and titles for instant switching between a PvP, a raid and a farming build, and aion2hub lists skill-mastery and Stigma presets in the update of Jan 7, 2026. On NC's PvP stream of Sep 11, 2026 a developer shows how skill options chosen for PvP differ from those for PvE, such as stuns and roots on a Ranger.
Macros
The fan site aion2hub dates the in-game skill-macro feature to the Korean update of Jan 28, 2026; NC's English releases do not describe it.
Macros already matter on the global client. Spid, who reached the Launch Scale Test's level cap, says players mainly use the left and right mouse buttons and actually do more damage with macros, part of why he calls the combat "very simple, very easy, one-clicky" (see Combat System).
Trunx, a newcomer who played a Gladiator for 12 hours in the test, reached the opposite verdict. He had taken the macro for auto combat until he tried it: it fires its sequence and weaves basic attacks between the abilities, but defensives, buffs, situational skills and dodges stay with the player, a low floor with a high ceiling.
Ynoki's Cleric macro guide of July 2026, recorded on the Taiwanese servers, shows how it works. The skill window (K) holds active, passive and Stigma skills, and only active and Stigma skills can go into a macro. A character has three skill setups, and the macro follows whichever is selected. Pressing the macro icon opens a list with room for "up to 20 skills".
Skills are added from a list with a delay between them; Ynoki uses 10 ms on the Taiwanese servers and says each player must tune it for their own ping. The macro is then given a key in the settings and runs while that key is held down, so the player can keep moving, dodge and press healing skills in between. He leaves charge skills such as Bolt out, because a macro fires them without charging, and warns that spamming a macro drains MP faster than playing by hand: "Macro is a tool, not a replacement for situational awareness."
xMontu makes the same point for the Gladiator: a macro is personal and "heavily depends on your ping", so one copied from another player, or recorded on a high-ping connection, will need tuning.
Macro setup per class
The class guides collect each class's macro from creators on the global client in launch week. In short:
| Class | What goes in the macro | Keep out of it |
|---|---|---|
| Gladiator | Buffs first, then each skill chain on its own line; aLuckyRO uses a 10 ms delay below 50 ping and 50 ms above 80 | Ruinous Blow and Leaping Slam, pressed by hand |
| Templar | The Judgment chain and the buff chain, with Pummel at the top of the Judgment chain; bound to the right mouse button, Vicious Strike on the left (Xia) | Punishment, which the macro fires at the lowest charge |
| Assassin | The rotation skills, held together with the basic attack so the animations overlap (Krono Katastrophy) | Insignia Explosion, kept on its own key by Nellan97 |
| Ranger | Gale Arrow, Drill Dart, Burst Arrow, Drill Dart (Moxsy) | Deadshot: a macro fires only its first charge |
| Sorcerer | Elemental Enhancement, Delayed Explosion, Winter Shackle, Firewall, Cold Storm, Bitter Cold Wind, Firestorm and Flame Arrow (EUTOPIA) | Hellfire, which a macro casts uncharged |
| Spiritmaster | Spirits, Combustion, Joint Strike and Dimensional Control, held after stacking Cold Shock and buffing (Tsuruf) | Stigmas, cast by hand by aLuckyRO |
| Cleric | Earth's Retribution, Chain of Torment, Earth Punishment and Condemnation for bosses (BoredAF) | Judgment Thunder on bosses; BoredAF adds it only for groups of monsters |
| Chanter | Two lines: Dark Crush with Spinning Strike, Marchutan's Wrath and Impactful Crush, then Incandescent Blow (Grobs) | Onslaught, kept on left click |
The steps are the same for every class: open the skill window (K), build the macro from active and Stigma skills, then give it a key under Settings, key settings, General, macro section, and hold that key in combat. Several creators, aLuckyRO among them, suggest playing a few days without a macro first, to learn what each skill does.
Frequently asked questions
Can you reset skill points in Aion 2? Yes, for free, according to creators on the Korean servers. Stigma skills cost resources to reset.
At what levels do skills gain new effects? At skill levels 8, 12 and 16. Skill points alone reach level 10; the Daevanion boards, Arcana and gear push skills higher.
How many Stigma slots are there? Five in Korea and Taiwan since Mar 25, 2026, and creators there report six by July 2026. NC's global notices had not stated the global number as of Sep 30, 2026, when the global client went live; a developer on NC's September 2026 stream said four.
What are Wisdom Stones for? Leveling skills. In Korea they come from Monoliths and can be bought with Shugo Festa currency; on the global client Society Of Gaming found them coming from Sealed Dungeons instead of Monoliths.
Does Aion 2 have macros? Yes, in Korea and Taiwan: one macro holds up to 20 active or Stigma skills and runs while its key is held.
How do I set up a macro in Aion 2? Open the skill window (K), add active and Stigma skills to the macro, bind it under Settings, key settings, General, macro section, and hold the key. What each class puts in it is under Macro setup per class above.
Why are several skills on one key? Many skills are conditional or chained, so Aion 2 stacks them on shared keys and uses whichever is ready.
Sources
- Aion 2 Introduces Major Class Overhaul and Unveils 'Chaotic Abyss', NC, Mar 25, 2026
- Aion 2 Rolls Out 'Chapter 1. Lands of Sand and Snow' Update, NC, Jul 6, 2026
- Aion 2's chaotic and overmonetized Korean release causes NCsoft stock to dip and devs to apologize, MassivelyOP, Nov 19, 2025
- Combat (updated Jan 12, 2026) and Patch Notes (fan translations, updated Jan 8, 2026), Aion 2 Wiki (Fextralife)
- Aion 2 Patch Notes, Aion2 Hub (fan site), retrieved Sep 15, 2026
- Dungeon Live Gameplay Showcase, Sep 4, 2026, and PvP Gameplay Live Showcase, Sep 11, 2026, Aion 2 Official (videos)
- Aion 2: Beginner's Guide | Essential Do's & Don'ts, BoredAF, Nov 22, 2025 (video)
- Aion 2 Beginner Guide - Fast & Easy Leveling!, Nov 22, 2025, and I played Aion 2 for 250 hours... (Final Review), Dec 20, 2025, Grobs (videos)
- Aion 2 FINALLY Shows Gameplay - New MMORPG, TheLazyPeon, Aug 22, 2025 (video)
- Aion 2 Pre Launch Guide Test Dates, Fast Leveling & Alts, Sep 5, 2026, and Aion 2 All 5 Professions Explains, Sep 14, 2026, CrusherXGaming (videos)
- Aion 2 Ultimate Beginner Leveling Guide - Escape the Grind & Level Up Quick, May 11, 2026, and Aion 2 Endgame Guide - Shugo Games FULL Rewards + Best Progression 2026, May 29, 2026, Society Of Gaming (videos)
- Aion 2 Gladiator FULL Guide - Everything You Need Before Global Launch, Sen, Jul 19, 2026 (video)
- Everything You NEED to Know About Gladiator in Aion 2 (Full Class Guide), xMontu, Aug 12, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Is Changing Forever - 2026 Season 2 Roadmap, Xela, Jan 14, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Cleric Guide : How to Balance Healing & Damage Output ( Macro Setup), Ynoki, Jul 5, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Day 1 Playtest Review - I Was NOT Ready For This…, Society Of Gaming, Sep 18, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Global First Impressions - The Good, Bad & Ugly, Spid, Sep 19, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Global Class Balance Is DIFFERENT From Korea?! The Biggest Rumor Explained, aLuckyRO, Sep 20, 2026 (video)
- First Impressions: Aion 2 feels surprisingly familiar, MassivelyOP (Tyler F.M. Edwards), Sep 22, 2026
- Aion 2 Hands-On: Great Combat, but the World Feels Strangely Solitary, S4G (Kevin Link), Sep 24, 2026
- Aion 2 hat das Zeug zum besten MMORPG seit vielen Jahren, aber das liegt nur bedingt an Aion 2, mein-mmo (Karsten Scholz), Sep 30, 2026
- How the Aion 2 Global Launch Will Be Different, Kentaro, Sep 23, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Wasn't Supposed to Be This Good, Trunx Official, Sep 27, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Latest Gladiator PvE Macro Setup for Global | Early-Game Beginner Macro Guide, aLuckyRO, Oct 6, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Templar: New In-Game Macro, Higher DPS, Xia, Oct 6, 2026 (video)
- How to Play Assassin | Skill Guide | Aion 2, Krono Katastrophy, Oct 6, 2026 (video)
- ULTIMATE RANGER GUIDE! (Leveling, Macros, Rotation & More!) // Aion 2 New Player Ranger Guide, Moxsy, Oct 5, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Sorcerer Build Update - Best PvE Skills, Stigmas, Macro & Rotation, EUTOPIA, Oct 6, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2 Global Spiritmaster Guide | Skills, Gear, Rotation & Tips, Tsuruf, Oct 3, 2026 (video)
- Aion 2: Cleric Macro Guide - 2 Button Gameplay, BoredAF, Oct 5, 2026 (video)
- The Only Chanter PVE Guide You Need | Aion 2, Grobs, Oct 5, 2026 (video)
- HOW TO DEAL DMG WITH ASSASSIN ON GLOBAL! - PVE GUIDE -, Nellan97, Oct 4, 2026 (video)
Moments
Aion 2: Beginner's Guide | Essential Do's & Don'ts
BoredAF
- Skills in Aion 2 are a short list that grows deep rather than wide: each class uses about a dozen active skills, plus…
- Skill points come from leveling and quests, and also from turning in the feathers scattered across the world at a town…
- Unlike skill points, Stigmas were not free to reset, and the shards that level them were scarce: BoredAF estimates…
Aion 2 FINALLY Shows Gameplay - New MMORPG
TheLazyPeon
Aion 2 Beginner Guide - Fast & Easy Leveling!
Grobs
- Many skills share a key. Grobs's beginner guide of November 2025 explains that most classes have 11 basic skills…
- Leveling a skill makes it stronger, and reaching certain thresholds opens effects on it: "the first effect you get on…
- Stigma skills are extra abilities chosen from a larger pool and slotted beside the basic skills. At the Korean launch…
I played Aion 2 for 250 hours… (Final Review)
Grobs
[Aion 2] Dungeon Live Gameplay Showcase
Aion 2 Official
Aion 2 Pre Launch Guide Test Dates, Fast Leveling & Alts
CrusherXGaming
Aion 2 Ultimate Beginner Leveling Guide - Escape the Grind & Level Up Quick (Global Release 2026)
Society Of Gaming
Aion 2 Day 1 Playtest Review - I Was NOT Ready For This…
Society Of Gaming
Aion 2 Gladiator FULL Guide - Everything You Need Before Global Launch
Sen
Aion 2 Global Class Balance Is DIFFERENT From Korea?! The Biggest Rumor Explained
aLuckyRO
How the Aion 2 Global Launch Will Be Different
Kentaro
Aion 2 Global First Impressions - The Good, Bad & Ugly
Spid
Aion 2 Wasn't Supposed to Be This Good
Trunx Official
Aion 2 Cleric Guide : How to Balance Healing & Damage Output ( Macro Setup)
Ynoki
Photos
See also
-
Aion 2Aion 2 is NC's free-to-play MMORPG sequel to Aion, built on Unreal Engine 5 around flight and the war between Elyos and Asmodians. It launched in Korea and Taiwan on Nov 19, 2025, opened to Founder's Pack owners worldwide on Sep 30, 2026, and has been free for everyone on PC since Oct 5, 2026. -
Combat SystemHow fights work in Aion 2: manual hit-confirm combat without auto-combat, the Aion 1 and Aion 2 control modes, lock-on targeting, rear hits, dodges, parries and blocks, chained skills, MP, boss stagger bars, separate PvE and PvP damage, and what testers of the global client made of it in September 2026. -
Daevanion BoardsThe Daevanion boards of Aion 2: node boards named after Empyrean Lords on which Daevanion crystals buy stats and skill levels, the orange, blue and green nodes and what they cost, where the crystals come from, the PvE and PvP boards, and the boards added later in Korea.
-
ClassesThe classes of Aion 2: the eight classes of the global version (Gladiator, Templar, Assassin, Ranger, Sorcerer, Spiritmaster, Cleric and Chanter) across tank, healer and damage roles, the Brawler of Korea and Taiwan, the older English names Marksman and Elementalist, Stigma skills and the class overhaul of March 2026. -
Stigma GuideStigmas on Aion 2's global servers: the four slots guide sites report at levels 22, 27, 32 and 37, Stigma Shard costs and where to farm them, Superior shards past level 20, resetting, and the best Stigmas for each of the eight classes, with where guides disagree.
-
ArcanaArcana in Aion 2: cards from Transcendence dungeons that add combat power, stats and skill levels, the card types and two- and four-piece set effects, crafting cards from crystals, extraction, the sets and slots added in Korea, and the AI-generated card art disclosed on Steam.